12 February 2008

Sabah & Sarawak

I couldn't deny the fact, there are still Malaysians that mix up Sabah and Sarawak. Even shocked to know they are some that didn't know how many states made up in Malaysia. How do we address such Malaysians? Are we too ignorance, don't-need-to-know the kind of attitude or we were not taught during our school days or we just don't bother to find out? I really don't know.

Which category of Malaysians would you pin point of them not knowing about their own country? Maybe, low education or either those that are really old in the 80s' or 90s' years old. Of course, we cannot blame them but we do hope everyone understands and knows about Malaysia when they are still living consciously.

Due to Chinese New Year, no Daily Express newspaper in the city for 4 days. My father is a person that couldn't live without newspaper for a day. No Daily Express but at least any newspaper will do. So he bought "TheStar".

Going through the newspaper, I read this short article.

Extracted from StarMetro, 7 February 2008 (Thursday)*click on the image to have a better view and read the article*

Looking at the petite picture at the side of the article, I scrutinized it. From the description, it said taken in Miri for the Sarawak Legal Year 2008. Now it really makes me think, whether this is the Sarawak Legal Year 2008 or Sabah Legal Year 2008. If you really examined the picture, it is obviously taken in Kota Kinabalu City in front of the Kota Kinabalu City Hall office.

Malaysians always tend to mix up Sabah and Sarawak. Is it because both states located in the Borneo Island and they couldn't differentiate the north and the south? Or was it the cause of Sabah and Sarawak are separated by the South China Sea from West Malaysia, too far for them to actually understand? Either the names of the both states starts with an alphabet "S" so they thought is the same place?

Brief introduction on Malaysia. There are 13 states(you can see from the map below) and 3 federal territories; Kuala Lumpur, Labuan and Putrajaya form Malaysia.

On your left side is West Malaysia also referred as Peninsular Malaysia, on your right side is East Malaysia also referred as Borneo Island

Sabah's capital city is Kota Kinabalu while Sarawak's capital city is Kuching. Miri is located in Sarawak on the Northern part.

Could you see how far it is Miri and Kota Kinabalu? How could they just make a news report like this? Confuse the Malaysians that didn't know the exact place?! We are now leave behind with the doubts whether this article is referring to Sarawak Legal Year 2008 or Sabah Legal Year 2008?

Clara Soo

1 comment :

-2รถ9- said...

I really don understand this girl...